top of page

Final Reflection

I think I learned a lot from my conference on Project One with Mat. I believe I am on the right track and need to do a few minor improvements, but after that I think I will be set. I liked Project One because it gave me and outlet to help tell the story of my experience in the political field, which I never really have written about before now. I had many experiences come to mind, but I chose to write about one of my favorites, relating to a man named Stepehen Wolgamott, who was running for City Commisoner. I made sure to include one of the pictures on my Wix site that went along with my Project One. It is a picture of one of the groups that was there volunteering for Wolgamott, representing our white t-shirts, with his name on them. I liked the format of Project Two. I did Project Two on the FSU College Republicans Club, which is interesting because it is a research paper, without being called a research paper. I thought the conference for Project Two went very well, I learned a lot from Mat. First, we went over how I was doing a good job integrating sources and connecting them back to the overall core subject of the College Republicans. Mat gave me a little encouragement to add a bit more info about the club and how the meetings/debates were done, to connect the audience with the club on a more personal level. I think I am headed in the right direction with a focus on my subject, question, and text at hand. Continuing with Project Two, I had to rewrite it and turn it back into Mat. His comments throughout my paper were very helpful, along with the help I received from the RWC. The tutor I met with there helped to work through my whole paper with me, and guide me, explaining more in depth upon what Mat had written. This was my first experience with the RWC and I will say that I only have positives to say, and received very good help with my Project Two. I hope that I made enough improvements to the paper, so that Mat will give me a better grade. Next, Project Three was very interesting to me. At first, I had no idea what I was going to do, but I did know it would continue my Project Two, which was on FSU College Republicans. I thought long and hard about what genres I would choose to do that would best use my skills, while representing the club in the light that I wanted it to be received in. I chose to first do a tweet, because Twitter does reach many people, along with being quite popular. The next genre I chose to do was a website, I thought this was a good choice because the club actually doesn’t have a website, so it was fun to create something that brought the club to life through a website. They do have all sorts of social media though, from Facebook to Twitter, they do represent themselves quite well in that sense. The third genre I chose to do was a letter, both thanking Nick for his help with Project Two, and also suggesting things that I, him, and the club should be doing to help promote the club and what it stands for. I also wanted to convey to him that I appreciated what he is already doing to further promote the conservative message. I learned in this project that genres don’t limit your options when it comes to these sort of things, there are so many to choose that can better represent your topic and message better than the last. My Wix site I hope represents all of my projects well. I tried to be creative in the process, but I am not that creative of a person, so it was a bit difficult for me to spruce my website up from the stock site that I had originally received at the beginning of the semester. I am very thankful I had Mat as a teacher. He made ENC 2135 63, which was my first college English class, both interesting and fun, while learning a lot in such a short time.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page